National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), also known as The University of Athens, is the oldest and largest public institution of higher learning in Greece and among the highest in Europe. It consists of 8 Schools and 31 Faculties with more than 100 postgraduate programmes representing the whole spectrum of higher education studies, including science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, law, economics, and education, where more than 120,000 students are enrolled.

During the last 20 years, under the framework of the LLP/ERASMUS programme, NKUA has sent about 8,000 students to partner universities and has received more than 3,800 incoming students. The vast majority of its 2,200 Faculty are involved in high-quality research projects, participating in international consortia funded by EU and national resources. A simple search in Google Scholar revealed about 2,500 publications in scientific journals authored by researchers affiliated with NKUA for the year 2014 alone. NKUA is a member of international associations (e.g., EUA, IAU, EAIE) and university networks (e.g., UNICA, UNEECC).

The University of Athens will co-lead WP2 and will be involved in WPs 7,8, and9. Also, it will organize and host an international conference.The group has extensive experience in running longitudinal field studies, as well as in the organization of international scientific events.